Automation and Industry 4.0 are playing a crucial role

Germany as a business location could lose its appeal.

According to a newspaper article on welt.de, labour costs in Germany once again shot up in 2019. At the same time, productivity remained stagnant or even declined slightly. Especially in an industrial nation like the Federal Republic of Germany, automation and Industry 4.0 are playing a crucial role in minimising negative economic effects, and therefore negative effects on your company. But what even is Industry 4.0?

Its historical predecessors

A short, historical outline: Industry 1.0 was the first machine-based mass production. This began around 1800, for example with looms. The second industrial revolution followed in the late 19th century, largely due to the discovery of electricity. It was not until the 1970s that Industry 3.0 arrived with the advent of computers/IT.

We have now arrived at Industry 4.0, which involved the networking of people, machines and products. As is so often the case these days, the critical key word here is digitalisation. Industry 4.0 specifically refers to digitalisation within industry/production. The German Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy is collecting practical examples on its „PLATTFORM INDUSTRIE 4.0“ website. It provides examples of how Industry 4.0 is currently being used in practice.

A vivid presentation of Industry 4.0

For example, the website lists applications like the development of a transport system comprised of autonomous and cooperative (i.e. intelligent) robots within a manufacturing plant to optimise the demand-driven flow of materials as part of a networked production system. Or condition monitoring systems and sensors that make it possible for machines and even products diagnose their own maintenance needs. (More information is also available through the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) on this website.)

Prof Dr Rainer Maria Wagner is regarded as a pioneer among medium-sized businesses. His 2018 book, Industrie 4.0 für die Praxis: Mit realen Fallbeispielen aus mittelständischen Unternehmen und vielen umsetzbaren Tipps (“Industry 4.0 for Use in Practice: With Real Case Studies from Medium-Sized Enterprises and Lots of Practical Tips”), contains 315 pages of real case studies from businesses. Wagner, an honorary professor, runs a seating furniture company and has taken a stand against cheap competitors by using robots in a smart factory system. And he doesn’t gloss over the social aspect. According to Wagner, there is a danger that, without smart robots, our production could come to a complete standstill at some point. Those who don’t get on board today are likely to be left behind.

So:

make sure you don’t sleep through the next revolution. Contact PES Engineering GmbH today to bring your project of the future to life.

Please contact Markus Portuné for any questions you might have about automation and Industry 4.0 in the factory of tomorrow.

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on xing
Share on whatsapp
en_GB

Die Wichtigkeit von Automatisierung und Industrie 4.0

Der Wirtschaftsstandort Deutschland könnte an Strahlkraft verlieren.

Laut einem Artikel auf welt.de sind im Jahr 2019 die Kosten für Arbeit in Deutschland erneut stark gestiegen. Dabei stagnierte die Produktivität oder ging sogar zurück. Automatisierung und Industrie 4.0 spielen, gerade in einem Industrieland wie der Bundesrepublik, eine entscheidende Rolle dabei, negative Effekte auf die Konjunktur – und damit auch auf Ihr Unternehmen! – zu verhindern. Doch was versteht man überhaupt unter Industrie 4.0?

 

Die geschichtlichen Vorläufer

Ein kurzer, historischer Abriss: Als Industrie 1.0 gilt die erste Massenproduktion durch Maschinen. Diese begann etwa 1800, beispielsweise durch Webstühle. Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts folgt – maßgeblich durch die Einführung der Elektrizität – die zweite industrielle Revolution. Erst beginnend mit den Siebziger Jahren erhob sich dann die Industrie 3.0 durch die Einführung von Computern/der IT.

Bei der Industrie 4.0 handelt es sich nun um die Vernetzung von Menschen, Maschinen und Produkten. Das hierbei entscheidende Schlagwort lautet, wie so oft in diesen Tagen: Digitalisierung. Industrie 4.0 meint dabei im speziellen die Digitalisierung innerhalb von Industrie/Produktion. Das Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Energie sammelt auf der Website „PLATTFORM INDUSTRIE 4.0“ Anwendungsbeispiele aus der Praxis. Nennt also Beispiele dafür, wo Industrie 4.0 heute schon gelebt wird.

 

Industrie 4.0 anschaulich vorgestellt

Aufgeführt sind dort beispielsweise die Entwicklung eines Transportsystems aus autonomen und kooperierenden, also intelligenten, Robotern innerhalb eines Fertigungswerks, um den bedarfsgesteuerten Materialfluss innerhalb der vernetzten Produktion zu optimieren. Oder Condition-Monitoring-Systeme und Sensoren, welchen es Maschinen, aber auch Produkten, ermöglicht, Ihren Wartungsbedarf selbst zu diagnostizieren. (Weitere Informationen finden Sie auch beim Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung, kurz BMBF, auf dieser Website.)

Prof. Dr. Rainer Maria Wagner gilt als Vorreiter im Mittelstand. In seinem 2018 erschienen Buch „Industrie 4.0 für die Praxis: Mit realen Fallbeispielen aus mittelständischen Unternehmen und vielen umsetzbaren Tipps“ beschreibt er auf 315 Seiten reale Fallbeispiele aus Unternehmen. Der Honorarprofessor Wagner führt ein Sitzmöbelunternehmen und behauptet sich durch den Einsatz von Robotern innerhalb einer smart factory gegen die Billigkonkurrenz. Er vergisst dabei auch nicht den sozialen Aspekt: So besteht laut Wagner die Gefahr, dass ohne smarte Roboter unsere Fertigung irgendwann gänzlich zum Erliegen kommt. Wer heute nicht mitzieht, wird wohl abgehängt werden.

 

Deshalb:

Verschlafen Sie nicht die nächste Revolution: Kontaktieren sie die PES Engineering GmbH noch heute, um Ihr Zukunftsprojekt zu realisieren!

Markus Portuné ist Ihr kompetenter Ansprechpartner in allen Fragen rund um Automatisierung und Industrie 4.0 in der Fabrik von morgen.

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on xing